Grotesque Burlesque

22
Apr 2017 Saturday
Tickets will be released on 18. December at noon (12:00).

Kabukimono (????) wander the streets, seeking an audience to join their new experiments in the underworld theatre, full of bizarre costumes and outlandish performances. Finding the streets empty on this spring night in Osaka, in the year 1743, the Kabukimono troupe (finally) finds an empty building, a title above the door - Damhuskroen-za. The Damhuskroen Theatre. Keeping their senses alert for Samurai who might be in the area, they sneak into the theatre to discover a perfect place to hold their performances, a strange yet welcoming venue, and they begin to decorate, and prepare their show. Soon, it is opening night and passer-bys have begun to take notice of the work being done at the Dam Hus Kro-za.


Commoners, samurai, farmers, artists, geishas, and all levels and genders of society allow their curiosity to overrule the social structure, and enter the theatre. They realize this is unlike the other Kabuki theatres popping up around Japan, rather, this is a participatory theatre where everyone joins and performs their own tale with their own characters. Everyone must participate in this kaleidoscope of excessive performances. Upon entering, they are told the secrets of the theatre, and they rejoice: it’s a chance to explore a new persona. Thus, they become their personas, and decorate their faces and bodies, expressing their new persona’s nature: passionate and righteous red, jealous and nefarious blues, supernaturally powered green, and noble purple. They put on their ornate, beautiful, thoughtful, outlandish, bizarre, grotesque. They rehearse their poses and their lines and prepare.

The scene is set, the audience becomes actors, and the play begins: A wild and unpredictable exploration of everyday interactions, of great samurai battles, of enchanting geisha tales, an exploration of self. This theatre pushes the boundaries of what Kabuki has been and could ever be - for everyone joins in, and everyone is an actor, for just one night.

In the morning, exhausted and exhilarated, the participants leave the theatre, and turn around to take one last look, to discover a pile of ashes where the theatre had been moments before. No smoke, no smell of fire… had they imagined it all? Rubbing their tired eyes, they look at their hands, and see the vibrant reds, blues, greens and purple from their makeup. No, this was a truer night than all others.

Photography: Mads Høbye
Art direction: Malene Habroe and Mads Høbye
Graphic design: Malene Habroe
Model: Luciano Foschi


Show facebookpage
By: Copenhagen Grotesque Burlesque
(Author of the event)

BEST PRICE guaranteed
BOOK NOW - pay later!
FREE cancellations on most rooms
CUSTOMER SERVICE - 24/7

HOTEL BOOKING

Find luxury and cheap hotels in Copenhagen with Copenhagen.com's accommodation search engine.

Arrival date

Departure date

Guests

 

Today 24 May
Thursday 25 May
Friday 26 May
Saturday 27 May
Wednesday 31 May
Thursday 1 June
Friday 2 June
Saturday 3 June
Monday 5 June
Wednesday 7 June
Friday 9 June
Saturday 10 June
Thursday 15 June
Friday 16 June
Saturday 17 June
Friday 23 June
Saturday 24 June
Sunday 25 June
Tuesday 27 June
Friday 30 June
Saturday 1 July
Friday 7 July
Wednesday 12 July
Thursday 13 July
Friday 21 July
Monday 31 July
Wednesday 2 August
Thursday 10 August
Friday 11 August
Tuesday 15 August
Saturday 19 August
Sunday 20 August
Thursday 24 August
Friday 25 August
Saturday 26 August
Sunday 27 August
Thursday 31 August
Saturday 2 September
Thursday 7 September
Friday 8 September
Saturday 9 September
Saturday 23 September
Thursday 28 September
Friday 29 September
Saturday 30 September
Tuesday 3 October
Friday 13 October
Friday 20 October
Saturday 21 October
Tuesday 31 October
Friday 3 November
Saturday 4 November
Saturday 25 November
Wednesday 29 November
Friday 5 January
Saturday 3 Mars
Saturday 5 May