Ironman

20
Aug 2017 Sunday
The road to Kona now runs through the heart of one of Europe's most historic and beautiful capital cities.

The spectator friendly race course passes many of the picturesque city's historic landmarks, such as the world-famous Opera House, the Little Mermaid statue, Amalienborg Palace (home of the Danish Queen) and the New Harbour waterfront.

The swim is a 3.8 km one-lap course in the lagoon at Amager Beach Park with excellent spectator views from the shores, as well as atop the three picturesque bridges perched above the action.

For the 180 km bike ride, competitors will wind through central Copenhagen before heading north on two loops in the rolling hills of the island's northern countryside, where lush farmlands create a scenic tour. You may recognize the scenery from the World Road Race Cycling Championships, which took place here in 2011, and will find yourself in a Tour de France-like atmosphere with spectators lining the course.

Once back in downtown Copenhagen, you’ll dismount your bike next to King's New Square and the Danish National Bank. This might be the fastest T2 in the world, as athletes hand over their bike and begin the run in just over 50 seconds.

The four-lap run course stretches along the city’s harbor, lined with bright 17th and 18th-century row houses and more than 150,000 cheering fans. Copenhageners celebrate the triathletes in front of the Danish Parliament at Christiansborg Castle, creating a tremendous crowning moment for every finisher.

IRONMAN Copenhagen offers 40 qualifying slots for the 2016 IRONMAN World Championship in Kailua-Kona, HI.


Originally from: http://eu.ironman.com/triathlon/events/emea/ironman/copenhagen.aspx#ixzz4Q51TxKi3


Show facebookpage
By: KMD IRONMAN Denmark
(Author of the event)

BEST PRICE guaranteed
BOOK NOW - pay later!
FREE cancellations on most rooms
CUSTOMER SERVICE - 24/7

HOTEL BOOKING

Find luxury and cheap hotels in Copenhagen with Copenhagen.com's accommodation search engine.

Arrival date

Departure date

Guests

 

Wednesday 29 Mars
Thursday 30 Mars
Friday 31 Mars
Saturday 1 April
Sunday 2 April
Tuesday 4 April
Thursday 6 April
Friday 7 April
Monday 10 April
Saturday 15 April
Saturday 22 April
Tuesday 25 April
Wednesday 26 April
Thursday 27 April
Friday 28 April
Saturday 29 April
Sunday 30 April
Tuesday 2 May
Thursday 4 May
Friday 5 May
Monday 8 May
Tuesday 9 May
Thursday 11 May
Friday 12 May
Sunday 14 May
Tuesday 16 May
Thursday 18 May
Saturday 20 May
Sunday 21 May
Monday 22 May
Wednesday 24 May
Saturday 27 May
Wednesday 31 May
Thursday 1 June
Friday 2 June
Monday 5 June
Wednesday 7 June
Saturday 10 June
Thursday 15 June
Friday 16 June
Saturday 17 June
Thursday 22 June
Saturday 24 June
Tuesday 27 June
Friday 30 June
Saturday 1 July
Thursday 13 July
Wednesday 2 August
Thursday 10 August
Friday 11 August
Tuesday 15 August
Saturday 19 August
Sunday 20 August
Thursday 24 August
Friday 25 August
Saturday 26 August
Sunday 27 August
Thursday 31 August
Saturday 2 September
Friday 8 September
Saturday 30 September
Saturday 21 October
Tuesday 31 October
Friday 3 November
Friday 5 January